Search

Russia – NATO Coordination Centre

NATO-RUSSIA COUNCIL’S COOPERATIVE AIRSPACE INITIATIVE

The Rome declaration of Heads of State and Government of NATO Member States and the Russian Federation dated 28 May 2002 paved the way for beginning work on the establishment of the NATO-Russia Coordination Centre as part of the implementation of the NATO-Russia Council’s Cooperative Airspace Initiative (NRC CAI).

27 October 2006 is considered the launch date of the Information Exchange System (IES). The Russian Federation CAI Coordination Centre was established on 22 November 2006.

image description
  • To foster cooperation between the NATO-Russia Council Nations in the sphere of airspace surveillance and air traffic coordination, with the underlying goal to enhance transparency, predictability and to strengthen collective capabilities required for countering terrorist air threats.
  • CAI geography in Europe is defined by the boundaries of ATC Area Control Centres in adjoining Flight Information Regions (FIR) between:
    — Bodø (Norway) and Murmansk (Russia);
    — Warsaw (Poland) and Kaliningrad (Russia);
    — Ankara (Turkey) and Rostov-on-Don (Russia).
  • CAI Coordination Centres in Moscow and Warsaw are the main coordination nodes. On the NATO part, a number of countries participate in the project implementation: Canada, France, Greece, Hungary, Norway, Poland, Turkey, and the United States. Observers are Estonia, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania, and Ukraine.
  • The basis of CAI is the Information Exchange System (IES) for the exchange of air situation information between the Coordination Centres in Moscow and Warsaw — the purpose of which is to improve the transparency of aviation activity in adjoining FIRs.
  • — Early detection of and notification of the counterpart on situations with renegade aircraft and other potentially threatening aircraft;
    — Coordination of actions between CAI partners in situations with potential renegade aircraft or other potentially threatening aircraft;
    — Ensure the continuity of real-time air track information for the purpose of such coordination;
    — Receipt of alerting notifications on aircraft located outside of respective areas of operational interest of the parties and suspected of being used as a weapon of terrorist attacks, with the aim of facilitating the monitoring of emerging air terrorist threats and exercising coordination.
  • The Russian part of IES organizationally consists of the NATO-Russia CAI Coordination Centre in Moscow and Local Coordination Units (LCU) in Murmansk, Kaliningrad, and Rostov-on-Don.
  • The Russian Federation CAI Coordination Centre performs its tasks in interaction with the NATO Coordination Centre, Russian LCUs, the Central Command Unit of the General Staff of the Ministry of Defence, the Situation Awareness Centre of the National Counterterrorism Committee, and federal executive bodies 
  • In 2010, under the leading role of the Staff of the National Counterterrorism Committee (NCC), the Russian CAI CC, jointly with concerned bodies, participated in the ‘North-West Anti-Terrorism 2010’ exercise.
  • From 2011 to 2013, the Russian CAI CC and LCUs took part in a number of joint international computer-simulated exercises, as well as international counterterrorism exercises ‘Vigilant Skies 2011’ and ‘Vigilant Skies 2013’ with the participation of Russian, Polish, and Turkish Air Forces.
  • At present, CAI participating nations (Russia, Poland, Norway, and Turkey) are completing the coordination and preparation to sign an intergovernmental agreement for the CAI Operational Phase that will constitute a legal basis for beginning 24/7 duty shifts by the staff of the Russian CC and LCUs within the framework of NRC CAI.

Поиск

Инициатива по сотрудничеству в воздушном пространстве Совета Россия — НАТО

Римская декларация глав государств и правительств Российской Федерации и государств — членов НАТО от 28 мая 2002 года положила начало работы по созданию Координационного центра «Россия — НАТО» (КЦ РФ) в рамках реализации Инициативы по сотрудничеству в воздушном пространстве Совета Россия-НАТО (ИСВП СРН).

Датой начала создания Системы сбора информации о воздушной обстановке (ССИВО) принято считать 27 октября 2006 года. Дата образования КЦ РФ — 22 ноября 2006 года.

image description
  • Способствовать сотрудничеству между странами Совета Россия — НАТО в сфере наблюдения за воздушным пространством и координации воздушного движения с исходной целью повышения прозрачности, предсказуемости и усиления коллективных возможностей по борьбе с террористическими воздушными угрозами.
  • География ИСВП в Европе определяется границами районных центров (РЦ) организации и обслуживания воздушного движения в примыкающих районах полетной информации (РПИ), а именно:
    — Будё (Норвегия) и Мурманск (Россия);
    — Варшава (Польша) и Калининград (Россия);
    — Анкара (Турция) и Ростов-на-Дону (Россия).
  • Координаторами ИСВП являются координационные центры в Москве и Варшаве. В реализации проекта со стороны НАТО принимают участие Венгрия, Греция, Италия, Канада, Норвегия, Польша, США, Турция и Франция. Наблюдателями являются Финляндия, Украина, Латвия, Литва и Эстония.
  • Основой ИСВП является Система информационного обмена (СИО) о воздушной обстановке между координационными центрами в Москве и Варшаве, задача которой — повышение прозрачности авиационной деятельности в воздушном пространстве в смежных РПИ.
  • Раннее обнаружение и уведомление сторон о ситуациях с воздушными судами (ВС) — нарушителями или иными потенциально угрожающими ВС;
  • Координация действий партнеров по ИСВП в ситуациях с потенциальными воздушными судами-нарушителями (renegade) или другими потенциально угрожающими ВС;
  • Обеспечение непрерывности информации о треках воздушных судов в режиме реального времени в целях осуществления такой координации;
  • Получение тревожных уведомлений по воздушным судам, которые находятся за пределами соответствующих границ зон оперативного интереса сторон и подозреваются в использовании в качестве орудия совершения террористических атак, чтобы облегчить отслеживание возникновения угрозы воздушного терроризма и координацию.
  • Российская часть ССИВО организационно состоит из Координационного центра «Россия-НАТО» в Москве, локальных координационных пунктов (ЛКП) в Мурманске, Калининграде и Ростове-на-Дону.
  • КЦ РФ выполняет свои задачи и функции во взаимодействии с Координационным центром НАТО, ЛКП России, ЦКП ГШ ВС МО, СЦ НАК, федеральными органами исполнительной власти.
  • В 2010 году под руководством аппарата Национального антитеррористического комитета (НАК), КЦ РФ совместно с заинтересованными органами принял участие в учениях «Северо-Запад Антитеррор-2010».
  • В период с 2011 по 2013 год КЦ РФ и ЛКП РФ неоднократно принимали участие в совместных международных командно-штабных учениях, а также в международных антитеррористических учениях «Бдительное небо 2011» (Vigilant Skies 2011) и «Бдительное небо 2013» с привлечением авиации ВВС РФ, ВВС Польши и ВВС Турции.
  • В настоящее время страны-участницы ИСВП (Россия, Польша, Норвегия и Турция) завершают процесс согласования и готовятся к подписанию Межправительственного соглашения на эксплуатационную фазу ИСВП, дающего юридическую основу для заступления персонала КЦ и ЛКП РФ на круглосуточное дежурство в рамках ИСВП СРН.